Check these basic aspects of DUI laws in Tennessee
DUI (Driving Under the Influence) of drugs, alcohol, cannabis, or amphetamines, is a serious criminal charge in Tennessee. You can be arrested on a DUI charge, if your BAC level is 0.08 or higher. Following your arrest, you may have many questions in mind, such as – how much trouble am I in for a DUI arrest? What are possible outcomes of the case? An experienced attorney can answer these questions for you. Below are some of the basic aspects worth knowing about DUI laws in Tennessee.
Is DUI a felony charge?
In Tennessee, the difference between misdemeanors and felonies is mainly with regards to jail time. For misdemeanors, the jail time is less than one year (11 months and 29 days). On the other hand, felony charges carry jail time of one year or more, and if convicted, the person will serve in a state prison (not county jail as in case of misdemeanors). The first DUI offense in Tennessee is considered to be a Class A misdemeanor. You may have to spend jail time, depending on the circumstances and facts of your case. The fourth DUI charge will be treated as Class E felony.
What about your driving license?
Just because you have been charged with DUI doesn’t mean that your driving license will be revoked. However, if you don’t agree to a test when pulled over and asked by a police officer, your license will be revoked for a year for the first DUI offense. When you obtain a driving license, you agree to chemical testing on request of a police officer, which is called the Implied Consent Law.
What are the consequences of a DUI offense?
If this is your first DUI offense, you will have to spend at least 48 hours in a county jail. You are also required to pay a file, not less than $350, but not more than $1,500 either. You may be asked to attend an alcohol safety program and your license will be revoked for a year.
Call an attorney for DUI charges
Just because you have been charged with DUI doesn’t mean you will get convicted. You need to seek expert legal representation, and it is in your best interest that you hire an attorney you are comfortable with. An experienced attorney knows what it takes to defend a DUI charge, and they will work in your interest, even if you were at fault.